Stay in your glass house.

image

When I write, and talk for that matter, I try to give people the benefit of the doubt, I try to always see both sides, I try to be politically correct. Because I don’t want to offend anyone, or hurt anyone.  But sometimes I just get pissed off. I am human after all, a human with a voice and I’ll be dammed if I will be made to feel less.
You see I don’t just have a son with mental illness, I also suffer a tad of anxiety myself and have many people I care about suffering, mostly silently with depression, anxiety and a gambit of other diagnosis.
I watch so often as many ignorant remarks are made, and I’m sick of it! Ya ya get the whole “they mean well”, ” don’t understand ” hoopla.
But I am sick and tired of the excuses people come up with to justify ridiculous comments they make. If you don’t know what to say it really is better to sometimes say nothing at all.  And if you’re reading this shaking your head thinking it’s not that bad,that it’s not that big of a deal, stop reading because you’ve obviously never been there or watched a loved one in the depths of despair trying to survive, and you obviously have a glass house. But don’t worry we can all see through the walls.

Instead of saying the attached list, try things like:
Can I help?
Do you need anything?
I don’t know what you are going through, but I am here.
No I can’t imagine.
Sometimes there are no answers, but you are loved and supported.

And sometimes there’s nothing you can say,  but just being there is all you need to offer.  To know they have a shoulder is all you can do.

I am sick of being a shoulder (and I have pretty big ones)  because of someone’s ignorant comments. I am sick of being there to wipe tears because of stigma. I’m sick of hearing and seeing shit that costs lives. I will however always be that shoulder and wipe those tears,  because there will always be people who say and share said shit,  who live in that glass house. And I will always be there whenever I an needed to pick up the pieces from their damage.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

